Email Newsletter

Enter your details here to be placed on our mailing list

About Us

North-West Highway Authorities & Utilities Committee (NWHAUC) was founded in 1993 to; serve the needs of organisations planning and co-ordinating works in the highway; interpret and facilitate over the legislation associated with such works (principally the New Road & Street Works Act 1991) ; and promote best practice, innovative solutions and improved communications between utilities and highway authorities.

NWHAUC comprises membership from 23 north-west based highway authorities and 11 utilities, and meets quarterly at a central location in Lancashire.

NWHAUC has links to HAUC UK, the national committee for all highway authority and utility liaison, which in turn has direct links with government departments for all matters related to works in the highway.

NWHAUC Officers

  • John Webb
    Utilities Chair

  • Michael White
    Highways Chair

  • Kay Gawthorpe


  • United Utilities plc
  • National Grid plc
  • BT Openreach plc
  • Dee Valley Water
  • Cable & Wireless Worldwide
  • Thus plc
  • Scottish Power
  • Virgin Media plc

Highway Authorities:

  • Cumbria CC
  • Lancashire CC
  • Blackpool BC
  • Blackburn with Darwen BC
  • Sefton MBC
  • Liverpool City Council
  • Knowsley BC
  • Halton DC
  • Warrington BC
  • St Helens BC
  • Wigan MBC
  • Wirral BC
  • West Cheshire
    and Chester Council
  • East Cheshire Council
  • Bolton BC
  • Bury BC
  • Rochdale BC
  • Oldham BC
  • Salford MBC
  • Tameside BC
  • Stockport BC
  • Trafford BC
  • Manchester City Council
  • Network Rail